“Look after yourself”

This phrase (or the equivalent – “Mind yourself”) is said by many on a daily basis. But do we actually take it into consideration? We are all so busy nowadays is there even time to look after yourself? I believe that how you are feeling effects everything you do. Whether it be work, school or doing daily tasks at home. If you feel crap, the task you are doing will suffer as you are not putting in 100% of your effort. It is so important to look after yourself and your Mental Health in order to perform well. So how can you do this? There are so many different things you can do to take care of your Mental Health and I have chosen 5 to talk about today.

1. Get enough sleep

This might sound simple and straight forward but getting the correct amount of sleep can have a huge impact on your body, mentally and physically. The body needs rest to function and so does the mind, so switching off at night is vital for your mental performance. Things that can help you get a good nights sleep include daily exercise, spending less time in front of electronics over an hour before bed, and reducing your caffeine intake.

2. Its ok to say NO

I am very guilty of taking on more than I can handle. If someone asks me to do something I say “Yes, no problem” straight away. This is a nice quality but if it gets you stressed because your work load is bigger than you can manage then its ok to say no! You could even say “let me think about it and get back to you” so at least you have time to think if you can realistically take on the task. If you can, thats great! If not, say NO!

3. Accept who you are

This one has been a life long battle for me and I assume for many others too. So this one doesn’t happen over night. The first step you can take is to stop comparing yourself to others. It sounds easy but we live in a world controlled by the media so we are always surrounded by people being judged (especially on how they look) and that can have a negative effect on how you see yourself. I always think to myself how boring the world would be if we all looked and acted the same. You do you boo. Another thing we all tend to do is think negatively about ourselves. We need to turn it around. Focus on the things you like about yourself and it will have a positive impact on how you see yourself.

4. Forgive yourself

I tend to be awfullyΒ hard on myself. If I make a mistake or don’t do well in something I get into a negative state of mind. I start thinking things like “I’m useless”, “I can’t do anything right” or “why do I even bother trying?”. Its important to forgive yourself, say “its ok” and move on. After all, no one is perfect.

5. Worry less

We all have worries in life and some people worry more than others. But what is important is what you are worrying about and if you can actually change it. I had many sleepless nights worrying about things I couldn’t do a single thing about. Which was a total waste of my time. I like to refer to this as unrealistic worrying. So if you are going to worry about something, make sure its realistic i.e. you can change or do something about it.

There are many more things that could have been added to this list but maybe I’ll talk about them another time.

The most important thing I want you to take from reading this is to think a bit more about looking after your mental health. Even acknowledging the emotions you are feeling is a great start.

Mind yourself,

Lisa x

Leave a Reply

